Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In
Share |


In 1958 the Southeastern Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons was formed to establish a collegial organization to strengthen and inspire plastic surgeons of the region to pursue the highest levels of personal conduct and professional service. The society aims to promote the art of plastic surgery by innovation and research. Through consideration to both the practical and scientific aspects of plastic surgery the SESPRS is aligned with its motto "Beauty and Function".

Today board certified/board eligible plastic surgeon-members represent eleven Southeastern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, as well as Puerto Rico.

The 28 SESPRS founders envisioned a climate in which members could focus on new developments in the field of plastic surgery, share experiences and opinions and exchange information. Building upon our foundation the Society continues striving to assure excellence and superior education in plastic surgery not only for this generation but for future generations of plastic surgeons.

The Southeastern Society hosts 3 meetings each year. The annual scientific meeting is held in June and spotlights member and resident abstracts and "hot topics" in the field of plastic surgery. The Breast Symposium and The Occuloplastic Symposium, held annually in January in Atlanta, hosts leaders in the field of plastic surgery from around the world with the objective to learn on a global scale. In addition to highlighting the latest advancements in a wide range of plastic and reconstructive surgery issues, these seminars stimulate socialization among colleagues. The bonds that are created extend to our families in a warm, congenial and inclusive environment.

The Society continues to recognize outstanding members and Residents in plastic surgery with several annual awards. These credits include: the Sam Upchurch Educational Fund and Upchurch Lecture which is presented by giants in the fields of plastic surgery, the General Alfred Robinson Glancey Award given to the winner of the annual resident competition and their residency program, and the Kenneth Pickrell Award for teaching excellence. The John Bostwick Award is given for original research topics in breast surgery. The Carl Hartrampf Chair Fund is funded to advance surgical skill and knowledge. Unlike the previous citations, The Special Achievement Award is given to a member, when warranted, for outstanding contributions to endeavors outside of the scope of plastic surgery.

The Southeastern Society has grown to a group of more than 500 plastic surgeons. This unique group of plastic surgeons leave their egos at the door in favor of a collegial attitude of give and take. Innovative, intelligent, and informed discussions are the cornerstone of our Society.

Community Search
Sign In

Latest News